Low Brass

Brassy...

The best way to describe my early musical career.  I wasn’t always an aspiring rock-star. Young Joe was a Tuba player, from 4th grade, until graduation! I also played the Baritone, and very little Trumpet & Trombone.  Band-geek was a term I was proud of, and still am to this day.

I contribute my talent, and ability to learn my craft, on the baseline understanding of theory and instrumentation I learned in grade school.  I may have gotten picked on (being the little guy with the big tuba.. I wasn’t always a towering 5’10″…), I may have gotten my ass worked hard during band camps, and I may have abandoned those instruments, but those were some of the funnest times of my youth, and I wouldn’t trade them for anything.

I’m not the type of person who says things like: “Man, I wish I was back in high school” or “If I knew then what I know now.”  because I think I did alright, considering the chances I had. Let’s face it… 18 year old Joe was an idiot, and couldn’t drink (legally). Why would I want to be that guy?

I guess what I’m saying is, I think too many people live in regret. They wish they’d done things differently, or their not happy with the way things are going.  I, cherish those times. I’ve worked my ass off, since I was young, I’ve been so broke I’ve had to eat almost-bad pizza from the trunk of my car, but the things I have now, I have earned through blood, sweat, and tears.

Life isn’t always easy, and it’s a lot easier if you focus your thoughts to your future, instead of worrying about where you’ve been.

Just a few thoughts.

Author: joeflair

Pennsylvania Native, Husband, Father, Fulltime-dispatcher, part time wannabe rock star! I guess you could say I'm a jack of some trades.. Aside from music, I'm proficient with computers, I'm a home-mechanic, offroading enthusiast, a cook, gamer, and a whole mess of other things. I'm very passionate about the things i love, and brutally honest about every aspect of life.

3 thoughts on “Low Brass”

    1. Yup… it’s counter-productive…
      Here I am, in my late 20s, getting ready to go back to college. Because when I was 18 College wasn’t really an option. And I’ve told myself that ever since. And honestly, I’m just sick of making excuses. It’s never too late to better yourself.

      Yep! I actually wasn’t too bad at it. But 12 year old Joe realized that I’d have more consistent work if I became a bass and guitar player…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

